Martha Stewart shared on her blog how her dog Francesca busted her lip and she winded up getting plastic surgery:

I returned home from my trips to Cartagena, Colombia, South America, and Orlando, Florida on Tuesday night, right before the predicted snowstorm.  I unpacked, sorted my stuff, and played with the dogs.  I planned to get into New York City that night, so I would not be delayed in the morning by the snowfall – twenty inches were forecast!  I had a 7:00AM call at the Today Show and a 9:00AM call for the Martha Show.  As I leaned down to whisper goodbye to a dozing Francesca, I must have startled her, because she bolted upright with such force that she hit me in the face like a boxing glove hitting an opponent’s face.  I was entirely startled and my neck snapped back.  I felt a bit of whiplash as blood gushed forth from my split lip.  Frannie was as upset as I was and cowered in her bed.

Rushing to a mirror, I realized it was a pretty serious gash.  I called Alexis and asked her to call the hospital to get a plastic surgeon to the emergency room. 

I’m glad that Martha got the medical care that she needed, but I think that she misinterpreted why Francesca was upset.  I think that I can interpret what actually happened.   Look at Frannie’s (that’s what I call her)  face.  That heffa doesn’t play!  She looks like if Martha doesn’t get her Kibbles n’ bits to her in a timely manner, she might cut her.  I can only imagine how Frannie was enjoying her sleep when Martha came over and tried to straighten her  pillows, so that they could be perfectly aligned.  That’s when Frannie snapped and thought, “Time to put an end to this mess’ and once she put her head to it, it was a wrap.  I’m pretty sure that Martha will never bend over to lovingly whisper goodbye to Frannie again.

